The opera Zazą was composed by Ruggero Leoncavallo to a libretto by Ruggero Leoncavallo based on Zazą by Pierre-Samuel Berton. It was first performed at Teatro Lirico in Milan (Italy) on 1900-11-10 and published by Sonzogno. The opera is set in Paris and St. Etienne.

Dramatis Personae:

  • Anaide, Zazą's mother (Mezzosoprano)
  • Augusto, A waiter (Tenor)
  • Bussy, A journalist (Baritone)
  • Cascart, A concert singer (Baritone)
  • Claretta, A concert singer (Soprano)
  • Courtois (Bass)
  • Duclou, A director (Bass-baritone)
  • Floriana, A concert singer (Soprano)
  • Lartigon, A monologue writer (Bass)
  • Malardot, Owner of the Café Chantant (Tenor)
  • Marco, Mr. Dufreyne's attendant (Tenor)
  • Michelin, A journalist (Baritone)
  • Milio Dufresne (Tenor)
  • Natalia, Zazą's maid (Soprano)
  • La Signora Dufresne, Dufresne's wife (Soprano)
  • Totņ (Spoken)
  • Zazą (Soprano)
Recordings: GB 2289/90-2

Search OperaBase for performances of Zazą:

City Country Date