Manon Lescaut

The opera Manon Lescaut was composed by Giacomo Puccini to a libretto by Giuseppe Giacosa, Luigi Illica, Domenico Oliva, Marco Praga, and Giulio Ricordi based on L'histoire du chevalier des Grieux et de Manon Lescaut, par Monsieur D. by Antoine François Prévost. It was first performed at Teatro Regio Ducal in Milan (Italy) on 1893-02-01 and published by Ricordi. The opera is set in France and USA.

Dramatis Personae:

  • Chevalier des Grieux (Tenor)
  • Dancing master (Tenor)
  • Edmondo, Student (Tenor)
  • Géronte di Ravoir, Treasurer general (Bass)
  • Innkeeper (Bass)
  • Lamplighter (Tenor)
  • Lescaut, Manon's brother, sergeant of the King's Guard (Baritone)
  • Manon (Soprano)
  • Naval captain (Bass)
  • Sergeant of the Royal Archers (Bass)
  • Singer (Mezzosoprano)
Recordings: 5 56301 2

Search OperaBase for performances of Manon Lescaut:

City Country Date