The opera Macbeth was composed by Giuseppe Verdi to a libretto by Francesco Maria Piave based on Macbeth by William Shakespeare. It was first performed at Teatro della Pergola in Florence (Italy) on 1847-03-14 and published by Ricordi. The opera is set in Scotland.

Dramatis Personae:

  • Banco, A General in Duncan's army (Bass)
  • Doctor (Bass)
  • Duncan, King of Scotland (Silent)
  • Fleanzio, Banco's son (Silent)
  • Ghost of Banco (Silent)
  • Hecate (Silent)
  • Herald (Bass)
  • Lady Macbeth, Macbeth's wife (Soprano)
  • Lady-in-waiting to Lady Macbeth (Mezzosoprano)
  • Macbeth, A General in Duncan's army (Baritone)
  • Macduff, A Scottish nobleman, Lord of Fife (Tenor)
  • Malcolm, Duncan's son (Tenor)
  • Murderer (Bass)
  • Servant of Macbeth (Bass)

Search OperaBase for performances of Macbeth:

City Country Date