I due foscari

The opera I due foscari was composed by Giuseppe Verdi to a libretto by Francesco Maria Piave based on The Two Foscari by Lord Byron. It was first performed at Teatro Argentina in Rome (Italy) on 1844-11-03 and published by Ricordi. The opera is set in Venice.

Dramatis Personae:

  • Barbarigo, Senator, member of the Giunta (Tenor)
  • Francesco Foscari, Doge of Venice (Baritone)
  • Jacopo Foscari, The doge's son (Tenor)
  • Jacopo Loredano, Member of the Council of Ten (Bass)
  • Lucrezia Contarini, Jacopo's wife (Soprano)
  • Officer of the Council of Ten (Tenor)
  • Pisana, Lucrezia's friend and confidante (Soprano)
  • Servant of the Doge (Bass)

Search OperaBase for performances of I due foscari:

City Country Date